What have Elizabeth Bennet and Malala Yousafzai got in common?

Today’s blogging 101 assignment, is to write something based on the ‘Daily Prompt’. I read it (https://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/pleased-to-meet-you/) and I thought – that is too much like hard work. But then I had a look at the Commons page and was inspired by https://suddenlysonder.wordpress.com/2015/01/19/bow-down-to-them-then-stab-them-in-the-back/ who took a character from her favourite book and one she was currently reading.

Elizabeth Bennet is the main protagonist from my favourite book Pride and Prejudice. Elizabeth is the second daughter of a relatively well-off family in 19th Century England. I am currently reading I Am Malala a memoir by Malala Yousafzai the Nobel Peace prize winner. Malala got the prize for her struggle to promote education for all. In 2012, Malala was shot by the taliban – she was just 15 years old. She survived the attack.

Despite the huge gap in time, I have been wondering what Malala and Elizabeth would talk about if they met each other. I think they would have much to discuss in particular education and the rights of woman. Family is important for both ladies. They had strong relationships with their fathers and this would be another topic of interest to them both. Personally I think Elizabeth would be impressed by Malala’s bravery. At the same time she would be disappointed by the world’s progress in education and woman’s rights.

It is sad to think that in 2015, free education is still not available to all children. There are approximately 58 million children worldwide that do not have access to primary education. Hundred’s of thousands of woman are trafficked worldwide each year; in some countries woman are not allowed to attend schools or vote.

Malala began writing for a BBC blog when she was just eleven years old (http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/7834402.stm). I wonder would Elizabeth Bennet have blogged too – I think she would!

 

8 comments

  1. Even though I have yet to read Pride and Prejudice, I think that you made a wonderful choice of people to compare, especially when it comes to Malala and the topic of women’s rights. Great post!

    Like

  2. That was a wonderful comparison you pulled up. Unlikely but not at all unpleasant to think of. Eliza is one of my favorite characters as well. Jane Austen is one of my favorite authors. Malala is indeed an inspiration and someone worthy of looking up to.
    I wish I had though about the prompt a bit longer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you. It was purely by accident that I combined the two, as another blogger had chosen her favourite character and the character from the book she was currently reading. It just worked when I thought of two together.

      Like

Comments welcome

