Butterfly

I have decided to do a month poetry corner, as part of the blogging 101 course to set a regular feature. I will aim to post a poem at the end of each month.

Out for a walk earlier today, I thought it would be something about our recent stormy weather. However, as I walked, I was reminded of a walk I had in the summer following the exact same path. I recalled the butterflies that seemed to be everywhere that day. So instead of storms I was inspired to do a poem about them. I wrote about them in my other blog at the time and checking it I realize it was September – but we had a lovely September so it may as well have been summer – https://murtaghsmeadow.wordpress.com/2014/09/21/last-of-the-butterflies/


 

Speckled wood butterfly

Speckled wood butterfly

BUTTERFLY

Butterfly,

way up high,

above where the flowers grow.

 

Butterfly,

take me there,

to summer blue sky.

 

Butterfly,

winter is biting,

colours,

a wing beat,

a memory.

2 comments

Comments welcome

