Stories in my head

I have more stories in my head than I have on paper, and endless rewrites of those that have made their was onto my computer hard-disk. There are also the scribbled notes in notebooks, ideas for stories, the first page of a story, a few lines of verse.

I find it hard to call myself a writer and when I read Suddenly Jamie’s article on “writing is my real job“, (which I read thanks to Discover) it got me thinking. If someone asks me what I do I immediately tell them what my part time job is. And it is nothing to do with writing, but it is what I spend 18 hours a week doing and it is what pays for some of the bills! But I am also a mother of two young children – a 24 hour a day job. In my spare time I write and take photographs. In the small amount of quiet time I have, I think about writing or write stories in my head.

I like the stories in my head. They often help me get to sleep at night. I can try out different scenarios to find a way to move a story forward, but how much am I loosing by not writing things down? If I could get the stories from my head onto paper would I be a better writer?

Earlier in the year I said I would give myself a year to get something published. The year is nearly up – and I am not sure one short story in a local newspaper counts. So what do I do now? Do I just let the stories in my head continue to entertain me – though the fact that they are sending me to sleep is possibly not a good sign(!), or do I thrown in the towel. Being realistic I probably need to admit to myself that throwing in the towel is not an option. I need to engage the creative side of my brain in order get through what at times can be the humdrum of daily life. As a child I enjoyed the fantasy of stories. As an adult, as the grey days of winter try and drag me under, I need an escape from reality too. If that is to the stories in my head, then so be it.

10 comments

  1. Just keep writing. That’s all you have to do. And when you don’t feel like writing. Don’t write. Love it for what it is and go with it. Think of every word you write (anywhere) as a seed planted. Be gentle with yourself and your craft.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing my post.
    I am glad that you will not throw in the towel. Though you may not have achieved all the writing goals you set for yourself (though I’d argue that a short story published in your local paper DOES count), that’s no reason to give up. Clearly, you have a passion for stories and words. If that brings you joy in even a small way, it’s something to hold onto no matter what.

    Happy writing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you Jamie for your great post that got me thinking; and thank you for you kind and generous words of encouragement. You are so right if it brings joy it is something to hold onto. Thank you.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s like pulling teeth here to coax writers out. Congratulations on getting a piece in a paper! I’d like to round up all our Blogging 101 Class in my burg and let you all have at it writing stories for our weekly! Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. With you exactly and understand where you are. Sometimes my writing inertia feels like living in candy floss but the stories you can conjure in your head say it all. Ever thought of recording your thoughts/stories/edits for re-visiting at a later date?

    Liked by 1 person

Comments welcome

