The blast of a trumpet

Inspired by Erica’s post on Collecting Words and Sentences where she praises the virtues of collecting words and quotes into your own personal “bible”, I went searching my bookshelves for one such bible I kept many years ago. I found it. There are two dates in it – May 1992 and 2000, so I reckon it must be in and around twenty years old. It is not full but there are some great quotes in it. I am pretty sure I have another one that I started as a teen and it may still be in a box somewhere so I will keep my eyes open for it.

Reading through the quotes, poems and even at the back of the notebook, song lyrics, I realised that the sentiments expressed by the words then, still resonate with me today. Perhaps suggesting that my values and beliefs have not changed all that much over time. This is perhaps not so surprising. At the same time, in those twenty years, I have changed. For one I am now the mother to two young children.

In fact, the first quote in the notebook, which is from Robert Fulghum’s book “All I really need to know I learned in Kindergarten”, seems even more relevant to me now being the mother of two kids.
kindergarten quote
How often have I said any of the above to my two kids?
The next poem by Joe Miller is about imagining the earth as being only a few feet in diameter and how it would be marveled. A google search showed me that the poem is available as a children’s book. The world has moved on since I wrote the words of the poem in my book and today you can listen to a youtube clip of it being read!
There are short quotes too like:
Don’t compromise yourself, you are all you’ve got.” Janis Joplin
What lies behind us, and what lies before us are tiny matters, compared to what lies within us.” Emerson.
Life is either a daring adventure or nothing.” Helen Keller
So having “re-found” my “bible”, and as there is plenty of space for more words of wisdom, I will start writing down again those words of inspiration that are out there for us all.

 

2 comments

Comments welcome

